Page 1 of 3 [ 46 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

BlackSky
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

01 Nov 2020, 12:04 pm

What was your degree? And what´s your job?

dragonsanddemons
Veteran
Veteran

01 Nov 2020, 5:37 pm

I have a Biology degree, but only ever managed to get hired for two part-time janitor positions (despite applying for more than fifty jobs, most of which were the kind of crappy jobs that “anyone” (except me, apparently) can get). Neither had a proper interview (I had a preliminary interview for a different job but was promptly pre-liminated because my tremor made me look far more nervous than I actually was, I told the interviewer that I have a tremor but he was still hung up on it for the entire interview), and the first place was so desperate for employees that my manager asked me several times if I knew anyone else who would like a part-time job and was asking me every week to fill in extra slots that were empty.

I am no longer seeking a biology-related job, I’m satisfied with having pets at home and have long since realized that nobody will choose me over basically anybody else despite having a college degree (probably because I really don’t have anything else at all going for me, and my grades in college weren’t that great anyway), so I have to take what I can get and am capable of performing.

Yet in my new wildness and freedom I almost welcome the bitterness of alienage. For although nepenthe has calmed me, I know always that I am an outsider; a stranger in this century and among those who are still men.
-H. P. Lovecraft, "The Outsider"

shortfatbalduglyman
Veteran
Veteran

01 Nov 2020, 8:27 pm

bachelor, cognitive science

associates, accounting

finished the first half of a bachelor in structural engineering

jobs:

data entry clerk
recordkeeping associate
tax preparer
actor
communications contractor
maintenance engineering intern
commercial real estate intern
lot attendant (current)
sign spinner (offered and not taken)