Is It Normal To Play The Same Game Again And Again....

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Mountain Goat
Veteran
Veteran

16 Nov 2020, 3:24 pm

I used to have a Playstation 2 and I played the same game again and again for years until the disc wore out. Then I gave it to my cousins son as he had jothing. I did have around 60 games... But most of my playing was with the one game. Grand Tourismo 4. I bought it when the prices dropped as PS3 was coming out so I had £100 off.

Now my nephew brought his Nintendo Switch. I started playing a racing car game called Asphalt 9 Legends. I liked the game. About six to eight months later with this lockdown and me spending too much time online, and not able to do too many other things, I bought a Switch, and it has really improved my hand and eye co-ordination as I had difficulties getting my hands to work, and difficulties in getting my eyes to focus on quicker close up things like a TV film which kept changing scenes (Some films do it so often it is hard to watch them). So my hands and eyes have seen an improvement. But I am playing the same game for at least four to six hours a day, and sometimes up to 14 to 15 hours a day. The same game. I don't think I am addicted, as I was not able to do a lot (I love model railways and making things for them but after the last burnout I struggled to have the concentration, and to get my hands and eyes doing what I wanted them to do with smaller things...).
But anyway. My nephew played the game for an hour now and then maybe once a week and gets bored. He could not see how I did not get bored playing the same game again and again. But I like it. (He did jot mind when he had his Switch as I was getting him up levels in the game). But is this an aspie trait? Is it what they call "Hyperfocus?"