Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

OldBird314
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

08 Dec 2020, 7:59 pm

I’m a lonely (antiquated) autodidact who failed out of school. I’m a complete loser. However, I’m passionate about math and I’m currently studying real analysis, complex analysis and measure theory. Does anyone know where I can find groups of people (online) who are similar? I’m looking for people to study math with who won’t make fun of me, and who like to learn new concepts. This may be better placed in another forum but I thought I’d try here.

Mountain Goat
Veteran
Veteran

08 Dec 2020, 8:07 pm

Welcome.

Maths is odd for me as I think in pictures so I tend to not be so good at deep thought in mathematical subjects, and I have forgotten lots as I only retain bits if I use them.
I'm even worse in languages.

But anything to do with trains and railways or bicycles.... Or even cars... Things like that and I am happier in.

madbutnotmad
Veteran
Veteran

08 Dec 2020, 8:22 pm

OldBird314 wrote:
I’m a lonely (antiquated) autodidact who failed out of school. I’m a complete loser. However, I’m passionate about math and I’m currently studying real analysis, complex analysis and measure theory. Does anyone know where I can find groups of people (online) who are similar? I’m looking for people to study math with who won’t make fun of me, and who like to learn new concepts. This may be better placed in another forum but I thought I’d try here.

a friend of mine does free and paid online courses which involve a great deal of math
i believe one of the courses is from MIT
I believe there is a forum there too.

Hope that helps

tensordyne
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

09 Dec 2020, 5:47 am

You are not a complete loser (banish that talk!). You are a human who always deserves respect and compassion :!: 8O