Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

DesertWoman
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

16 May 2021, 11:48 pm

All my life...sabotage.

Over and over and over and over.

I feel like I have nothing.

For one year, I finally knew what it felt like to be everything I wanted to be. And enough people know now about what happened and how I feel about things. i was a full-time teacher in a public school. Two of them, actually. I wasn't famous or anything, I was just an adult who was living independently. I was working. I was productive. Many years before, I disclosed my autism in the public schools and was met with no support. So, I stopped telling people about it. But it never went away, and before I knew it, the people I thought had my back got rid of me. Even my "friends" couldn't handle me teaching online. It's like no one wanted me to be happy.

I'll never go home again, and where I've lived for the past 20 years hasn't been too welcoming, either.

People can be so mean and deceitful. They'll find any weakness you have and just suck the life right out of you.
It's so true: you'll get what you want after everyone else gets what they want.

I used to come home and grade papers. Plan for the following week. I participated in school programs. I was an active, conscientious professional. I listened to my colleagues. They listened to me. it was everything I'd ever hoped and wished for. I earned the right to be a teacher.

I get teased all the time. Prior to my "year of actual living" I was either unemployed or underemployed.

I can't believe how awful some people can be. Just downright selfish with no business judging me.

I'm a human being. Not some thing that people can just pick up and throw down when they're bored.

Oculus
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

09 Jun 2021, 11:54 am

The year you spent as a teacher shows you can live your best life doing something you enjoy and take pride in. Because you have done that, you have every reason to believe you can do it again.