Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

DuckieMay
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

20 May 2021, 8:42 pm

I honestly had no idea.

My lifelong research of psychology, my 7 failed attempts at college, emotional breakdowns, my clapping and flappy hands and rocking, my one (1) single movie that I watch (Interstellar) over and over and over.

Looking at everyone’s feet when I talk, going non-verbal, my obsession with scents, eating the same stupid gas station taquitos like it’s a street drug, my emotions about words and ability to sound out or spell a word that I’ve never heard before, my random facts spout out randomly and my monologues.

I am an author and artist. And I have been openly autistic for a while... but didn’t actually know that I am autistic and just assumed I was a weirdo. Basically everyone assumed the same.

But I (of course) have studied autism for a couple months now. And I hit almost every box, except being good at math (I think I have dye calculus), having an intellectual delay, having digestive issues.

When I told my family, parents and my spouse, they were basically like “Oh, that explains so much! And that’s awesome!”

When I talked to a psychiatrist, they confirmed my suspicions. I am also bipolar.

I am so happy to be here and so happy to feel like I finally walked into the right classroom for once in my life.

I am 35, parent of an autistic 9 year old, and an artist & children’s book author. Hi! :)

aquafelix
Veteran
Veteran

21 May 2021, 1:30 am

Welcome

autisticelders
Veteran
Veteran

21 May 2021, 4:38 am

what a relief to finally have that burst of self understanding! I found out about my own autism around age 65 and got formal diagnosis at 68. What a difference in perspective and how wonderful to know finally that I am not alone, there are others who understand me because they have had experiences like mine in many ways. The first time somebody said "you are not alone" was amazing! welcome home!