What type of stim do you like and why is it a stim for you ?

Page 1 of 4 [ 50 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Peter Crawford
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

07 Jun 2021, 10:20 am

What type of stim do you like and why is it a stim for you ?

(I think that sensory-seeking or avoidance types, hypo and hyper sensibilities, and sensory profiles are importants tools for an autistic person. Knowing what depletes your batteries fast or charge it is very useful. Using stims to feel well is not something I've been activily adviced from most of the professional that I've met, and I find it sad.
I create this topic so people can share the sensory-seeking behaviour that recharge their battery of make them feel well, them being socially acceptable or not.)

I begin : I like walking fast or doing acceleration-heavy sports like martial arts, though I'm not very good at them. I think I have some proprioceptive hyposensibility which lead me to love acceleration. I like driving too.

The problem with that is that when I'm in a bad pass and in a bout of depression, I have less energy to bear the social cost of moving into the public space where I must control my appearance, so I move less and loose the mental health benefit of my personal "stimming by moving".

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

07 Jun 2021, 10:23 am

Rocking chairs and backyard swings are my tools with which to "stim".

No love for Hamas, Hezbollah, Iranian Leadership, Islamic Jihad, other Islamic terrorist groups, OR their supporters and sympathizers.

Brainiac42
Veteran
Veteran

07 Jun 2021, 10:30 am

I like to tap repetitively on things, whether it be my desk, my legs, tapping with my foot, or sometimes if I’m being discrete I just tap my thumb onto my index finger in sets of even numbers to calm down my thinking. I also twirl my feet in circles if I’m laying down if I’m overwhelmed or don’t feel well.

AprilR
Veteran
Veteran

07 Jun 2021, 11:24 am