Autistic vs NT descriptions of conversations in writing

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

superluminal23
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

09 Jun 2021, 1:33 am

So, I'm an amateur writer and I was showing my latest work to my NT partner. She told me that she found it hard to follow how some of the characters were feeling/thinking because of a lack of description. For example, I'd write something like:

--Mary asked Joe how he was feeling and he replied, "I'm fine."

And my partner was looking for some contextual clues about how Joe was really feeling, such as:

--Mary asked Joe how he was feeling and he replied, "I'm fine!" with huge grin on his face.

We talked about it for a while and we came to two interesting conclusions. First, because I don't pick up a lot of those contextual clues, it's not really something that's on my mind as I'm writing, so I wouldn't think to actually include descriptors like that. But more importantly, it gave her some real insight into how an autistic person perceives the world. "I had so much trouble trying to guess how the characters actually felt!" she said. "Is that how you struggle all the time in real life?"

Anyway, it gave me the idea that maybe people could understand a bit more about autism by reading a book by an autistic person and trying to perceive the world through their eyes.

Brainiac42
Veteran
Veteran

10 Jun 2021, 11:17 am

superluminal23 wrote:
So, I'm an amateur writer and I was showing my latest work to my NT partner. She told me that she found it hard to follow how some of the characters were feeling/thinking because of a lack of description. For example, I'd write something like:

--Mary asked Joe how he was feeling and he replied, "I'm fine."

And my partner was looking for some contextual clues about how Joe was really feeling, such as:

--Mary asked Joe how he was feeling and he replied, "I'm fine!" with huge grin on his face.