Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

HacKING
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

11 Jun 2021, 9:19 pm

I was thinking about the type of music that tends to be popular. What is the common element that is in most popular genres in the 21st century. Repetition. From the rhythmic snares of trap to the repeated synth lines and choruses of pop, repetition seems to be king in popular music. This inclination towards repetition made me think of another concept- shamanism. Now, I'm no expert on it but I know that a common practice of shamans was to give an individual some kind of psychoactive drug like Ayauahsca and then play a repetitive, rhythmic song on drums. The combination of the drug and the music puts the subject into a trancelike state so that the shaman is able to tap into their mind and help them work through their internal demons.

To me this sounds very much like a club/party/rave environment. Popular (repetitive) music is played loudly as people often consume drugs/alcohol which combined with the music puts them into a trance where whatever the DJ says they follow. So in a sense the DJ plays the role of shaman.

Just an interesting parallel I thought of, perhaps there is something about repetition in music that inherently appeals to people, like the knowing what to expect. That's what tonality is often about; resolving chords in a way that people expect to tie it in a nice bow. Perhaps repetitive/popular music takes that idea of predictiveness and tonality and leverages it for mass appeal.

cbd
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

12 Jun 2021, 9:37 am

HacKING wrote: