Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Houseboatz
Butterfly
Butterfly

13 Jul 2021, 5:18 am

Hi. I am new to Wrong Planet posting but I have been scrolling on this site for a while. I need advice.

Last night I got angry at the way my gf was treating me (She was angry that my phone light was too bright, but she came about it aggressively) and I hit the bed next to her and ended up hitting her leg. (I was also slightly drunk). She started screaming that I hit her and got angry, and I lightly slapped her on the cheek after. She slept on the couch.

We had been talking about getting married, we been together over 6 years, but she says she thinks we are not ready if I treat her that way. She said we are back to square 1 now.. and she no longer wants to get engaged right now.

I really regret my actions. I grew up seeing my dad hit my mom and be verbally abusive. I had violent meltdowns as a child. I want to marry my girlfriend, but I am thinking maybe I’m lucky she didn’t break up with me and I should be thankful.

What can I do to make this better? We’d been doing so well until last night.

Mountain Goat
Veteran
Veteran

13 Jul 2021, 5:25 am

Best advice I can give is to cut down on the drinking because it impares ones judgement when one is drunk.
The other advice I can give is to pray, and I really hope that all goes well in your forthcoming marriage.

Welcome to Wrong Planet. :)

Houseboatz
Butterfly
Butterfly

13 Jul 2021, 5:50 am

Thank you for the welcome and the advice. I’m upset that she said she no longer wants to get married, and I’m upset by my actions. I don’t know why I did it. I think I ruined our relationship

Mountain Goat
Veteran
Veteran

13 Jul 2021, 5:55 am

Give her time. She reacted like that because she has been upset.

Houseboatz
Butterfly
Butterfly

13 Jul 2021, 1:21 pm

I don’t know what to do. I can’t stop thinking about this. I can’t believe I did this. I want to marry her and now she doesn’t want to because of one stupid mistake.