Pre-COVID claim that a pandemic was inevitable

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

vividgroovy
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

05 Aug 2021, 6:15 am

I used to be a freelance theater critic for a local paper. At one point, I wrote a few news articles in an attempt to get on staff. One of my assignments was to cover a symposium on the bird flu hosted by local government officials.

At the event, we were told that while nobody knew what was going to happen with the bird flu, a global pandemic of some kind was inevitable -- they happened about once every hundred years and we were "overdue" for one at that time. This was probably around 2007.

I'm not a medical expert and I have no idea how or if the current pandemic could have been prevented. It's just interesting to me that the narrative we were told at that event seems to have completely disappeared in the time of COVID. Or at least, I'm not seeing it anywhere. As the pandemic has become politicized (at least here in the U.S.) both sides seem interested in claiming that it was caused by the other side and could have been prevented by their own side.

naturalplastic
Veteran
Veteran

05 Aug 2021, 2:37 pm

Not surprised that experts were saying that because it WAS bound to happen.

Infectious diseases come and go through history like the seasons. And the appear when barriers to trade and commerce fall.

Genghis Khan conquered Asia and Eastern Europe, and enforced security on the trade routes between east and west through the steppes of central Asia. About century later a bacteria that lived in fleas in marmots on the steppe spread to rats, and the bubonic plague swept across the length of Eurasia killing like a third of Europe.

Columbus discovered America. This resulted in the diseases of Eurasia spreading the indigenious people of the Americas. Killing millions.