Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Michel Ardan
Butterfly
Butterfly

26 Aug 2021, 3:06 pm

Hi everyone

Do you get anxious when you have to travel for work, especially in places you never went before and using means of transport you’re not used to?

I started a new job last year. At one point I was told that I would need to travel alone to monitor experiments I am responsible of (I’m an engineer). It’s not time yet but it made me really anxious. It would have been necessary to go there by car for a few hours by motorway. I never drove on a motorway and the speed and concentration needed for that much time, and the fact that I didn’t know the place beforehand, amd my hate of driving, plus the need to stay for the night felt overwhelming. Like, a bit more and I think it would have started to become physical.

I nearly had to do it to take part to a meeting at a supplier’s premises with my team and theirs, a two-hour drive of the same kind, but this time I couldn’t escape because it was forbidden to be more than one person per car (covid rule). Thankfully it was just for the day. Even more thankfully, the rule was lifted like 2 days before the meeting and a colleague accepted me to be his passenger. It was a HUGE relief, even though it meant I had to wake up at 4 in the morning instead of 6 AM to get to his home by public transports. Public transports in my place no longer give me anxiety, unless it’s bus lines I never took.

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

27 Aug 2021, 12:55 pm

LOL....I wish we could trade jobs.

I only take public transport to my job, since I live in New York, and there's very little parking there. I wish I could drive to work, though.

I also wish I could travel on the highway, and stay in hotels.

It's a good thing there are GPS's now. I would just rely on them, and make sure you stay in your lane on the motorway.

I find it easier to drive on a motorway than in a city----because there are no "intersections" in motorways.

Michel Ardan
Butterfly
Butterfly