Page 1 of 6 [ 87 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

SharonB
Veteran
Veteran

11 Sep 2021, 11:45 am

Would you please update the "Computers, Math, Science, and Technology" forum description to be less misogynist? It is 2021 after all. Amusing myself: "When women were women and could punch the heck out of a card" --- my (ASD) mom worked for NASA and PCR and programmed with punch cards. I'm a wicked systems analyst myself. Sarcasm: Oh, wait, there is a Women's forum, so is the Computer forum the de facto Men's forum? My bad.

Fact: An ivy league university changed some computer and engineering course names and descriptions and saw the female enrollment more than double. Titles and descriptions matter for inclusivity.

Let's not subconsciously put off near half of us here (the mostly undiagnosed gender).

Mountain Goat
Veteran
Veteran

11 Sep 2021, 12:00 pm

It is not nice being a man.

funeralxempire
Veteran
Veteran

11 Sep 2021, 12:34 pm

Mountain Goat wrote:
It is not nice being a man.

That's besides the point though. SharonB's right to point out that women have a place in technical fields and that it's wrong to act like those fields are reserved for men.

Besides, preserving misogyny doesn't make things any better for men.

Watching liberals try to solve societal problems without a systemic critique/class consciousness is like watching someone in the dark try to flip on the light switch, but they keep turning on the garbage disposal instead.
戦争ではなく戦争と戦う

Mountain Goat
Veteran
Veteran

11 Sep 2021, 12:50 pm

I don't know what a misgynmy is.

All I know is these days I am under continual attack from society for being a man.

funeralxempire
Veteran
Veteran

11 Sep 2021, 12:54 pm

Mountain Goat wrote:

All I know is these days I am under continual attack from society for being a man.

Quote:
misogyny n
Hatred of, contempt for, or prejudice against women.