Newly Diagnosed, friends don't believe me

Page 1 of 2 [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Shellbelle
Veteran
Veteran

13 Sep 2021, 11:14 pm

Hello everyone,

I am new here, and so far everyone has been really welcoming and kind. I am glad to meet so many wonderful humans in one place.

I am still trying to figure out quite a few things- I am new to embracing this part of myself and what being diagnosed may mean for my life. I am also beginning to tell those closest to me about my diagnosis.

When I told two of the people closest to me, both of their reactions were disbelief, one questioned why I even sought a diagnosis at all, like it was dumb, the other won't stop questioning me about the validity of it and was even angry over it. Both were very skeptical overall. Like I am lying, or something.

My life has been so hard for so long, with challenges I just couldn't figure out, but which were easier for other people. I would compare myself to others and the contrast was effecting my self worth and every aspect of my life in such a negative way. It has been such a relief to know that I am not broken, or lazy or stupid. Being diagnosed was really freeing, comforting and wonderful for me, so it really hurts to have those closest question the validity of it, when what I need most is support to navigate life with this new playbook.

Has anyone else had a similar experience? And if so, how did you navigate it? Is it even worth telling those closest to you?

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

13 Sep 2021, 11:20 pm

LOL…..there’s no doubt in anybody’s mind that I have SOMETHING. I guess I’m lucky that way :wink:

chaosmos
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

13 Sep 2021, 11:31 pm

Although I am undiagnosed (awaiting assessment) I have expressed my feelings to a few who are close to me - family and colleagues.