Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Shellbelle
Veteran
Veteran

06 Oct 2021, 6:14 pm

At work today, my colleagues were talking about autistic people. I don't think it was intended as mean spirited, but it was.

They were laughing at how one person's daughter who works with autistic children has so many stories to tell and how it is just hilarious. They were dying laughing about
a little girl who had echolalia and could only repeat what she heard, and a little boy with no filter, he just said what he was thinking.

I wanted to cry because these children are just like me. Their differences aren't to be mocked and laughed at. It makes me feel so unsafe too. I know I can't share who I am or ask for accommodations in this place, and I get doubly frustrated and pissed off because I work in education and these people need to advocate for all children. This is our #&#^ job.

I don't know if there is much to discuss here, but I have to share with those who understand. It just sucks. :cry:

Jakki
Veteran
Veteran

06 Oct 2021, 6:30 pm

Shellbelle wrote:
At work today, my colleagues were talking about autistic people. I don't think it was intended as mean spirited, but it was.

They were laughing at how one person's daughter who works with autistic children has so many stories to tell and how it is just hilarious. They were dying laughing about
a little girl who had echolalia and could only repeat what she heard, and a little boy with no filter, he just said what he was thinking.

I wanted to cry because these children are just like me. Their differences aren't to be mocked and laughed at. It makes me feel so unsafe too. I know I can't share who I am or ask for accommodations in this place, and I get doubly frustrated and pissed off because I work in education and these people need to advocate for all children. This is our #&#^ job.

I don't know if there is much to discuss here, but I have to share with those who understand. It just sucks. :cry: