Do we have a definition of "special interest"?

Page 1 of 3 [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Dandansson
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

07 Oct 2021, 4:04 am

Do we have a definition of "special interest"?
People who talk about it often say that it must be something that only gives you joy and pleasure. I often struggle with the stuff I am learning and I'm starting to wonder if I therefore have no special interests. Nothing will give me only joy and pleasure. I am not that good at anything. It's hard for me to imagine people only getting joy and pleasure out of doing something. How is this possible?

I have to say this: people avoid talking about this at all. I ask what a "special interest" is but people refuse to answer me. It's like "only joy and pleasure" is a lie. Perhaps that is how people like to talk about it, ie they think of only some aspects of the "special interest" but there are difficult aspects as well. I, myself, get frustrated when I think I should be much better at something than I am. I gues many of you never care about how good you are. You just learn something without much care if you are good or not? Maybe we just forget about the frustrations involved?

ConfusedFresher
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

07 Oct 2021, 6:11 am

What do you enjoy doing?

Dandansson
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

07 Oct 2021, 7:40 am

ConfusedFresher wrote:
What do you enjoy doing?

:?:

Ettina
Veteran
Veteran

07 Oct 2021, 8:08 am

If it's something that causes you frustration and you're doing it to get better at it, that's not a special interest. A special interest is inherently enjoyable and doesn't feel like work to engage with.

It's possible that you might not have any. Especially if you're depressed - one symptom of depression is the loss of capacity for enjoyment, and for autistic people that can mean not having special interests, or not finding your interests enjoyable.