Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Crystal1414
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

09 Oct 2021, 4:34 pm

My relatives want me to live in a group home one day. I'm not sure what a group home would be like.

I'm probably not gonna be fully independent. I cant work currently. I have psychotic episodes. I need help with my prescriptions and being reminded to take them. I'm not very good at managing money. I get overwhelmed with the idea of having to shop for groceries.

My parents want me to live somewhere where I can get the support I need. They don't believe I could live by myself ever. They would prefer somewhere with around the clock care. I think I could be semi independent though.

theprisoner
Veteran
Veteran

09 Oct 2021, 4:40 pm

I would suggest slow progressive desensitization to overcome your social anxiety. Unless you have serious physical obstacles to deal with. What people believe should not restrict you.

AQ: 27 Diagnosis:High functioning (just on the cusp of normal.) IQ:131 (somewhat inflated result but ego-flattering) DNA:XY Location: UK. Eyes: Blue. Hair: Brown. Height:6'1 Celebrity I most resemble: Tom hardy. Favorite Band: The Doors. Personality: uhhm ....(what can i say...we asd people are strange)

Crystal1414
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

09 Oct 2021, 4:43 pm

theprisoner wrote:
I would suggest slow progressive desensitization to overcome your social anxiety. Unless you have serious physical obstacles to deal with. What people believe should not restrict you.

Ok. I'm not sure what that is. I try not to let people restrict me but it's hard sometimes. I feel like I dont have a lot of autonomy.

theprisoner
Veteran
Veteran

09 Oct 2021, 4:48 pm

Quote:
Exposure is the way to overcome any fear. This means you gradually expose yourself to what you fear over and over again until you no longer fear it. In psychology this is called progressive desensitization. You progressively desensitize yourself to what you are afraid of.