Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Shadowed_Moon
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

28 Nov 2021, 3:36 am

This is as much as rant to get it off my chest as it is me asking for advice. I apologize in advance for being long-winded.
To start, I am pretty damn sure I have both Asperger’s and alexithymia. I’ve never “officially” been diagnosed, but the typical characteristics for them fit me to a T. I sort of “figured it out” after researching it on a whim after a friend of mine in college said he thought I may be on the autistic spectrum. I struggle to identify my emotions, particularly attraction/love and I am completely oblivious to the way others feel towards me unless they make it totally explicit. I’ve never been able to tell if someone “likes me”- the only way I know I’ve had admirers is because other people have told me that so-and-so likes me- and this has happened five times already!
My story revolves around a certain girl who rode the same bus as me when I was a sophomore in high school. I went to an all-male catholic school; she went to the nearby all-female sister school. The first time I laid eyes upon her, I was smitten. (cliché as it is, it’s true!) I thought she was so cute she most certainly had to be out of my league. In all likelihood, I probably never would have never had the courage to talk to her, but by sheer chance, one of the other guys I was talking with roped her into our discussion and I wound up in conversation with her. I really enjoyed talking to her and we also had similar interests in science fiction, supernatural and mythological tales, chemistry, and such. I think that conversation was the tipping point for me realizing that I really liked her- so much so I had the nagging thought “Am I in love with her?”, but I couldn’t really conceptualize when or whether my crush constituted “love”. There was also the fact that I couldn’t help but think it was possible that she liked me too. (Looking back on it now, I’m pretty certain that she did. Certain things I distinctly