Does anyone here use a service animal?

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

White_Feather
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

30 Dec 2021, 1:41 pm

I am thinking about using a service dog. I am not able to go out by myself because of sensory overload and stress from communicating with people. I haven't been able to deal with that my whole life. To cope in the past, I used drugs.

I want to train my own dog. I have a lot of dog training experience and I am brainstorming of tasks to train her to help me. Keeping people away from me is one thing, I need space and she can be taught to sit behind me in lines and walk on the side people pass by on etc. She also senses when I am getting overwhelmed and naturally responds by jumping on me to calm me down.

I am also debating on allowing her to interact with people on command to ease the social pressure on me. Generally service dogs do not interact with strangers but I feel it might help me in certain situations. I also do not want to cause confusion when a different type of service dog is around that cannot be petted or distracted.

maycontainthunder
Veteran
Veteran

30 Dec 2021, 2:45 pm

The only issues I can see in training your own dog are

1)I bet they're friendly and that is an issue with a service dog.
2)Dedicated service dogs are trained from a pup for the job; they're trained not to get distracted.

I see no issues with training your own dog to help you around the house.

Slight threadjack but I think you might like this video;

AnonymousAnonymous
Veteran
Veteran

30 Dec 2021, 6:42 pm

I love dogs, but I do not use one because I don't need one.

White_Feather
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

31 Dec 2021, 2:07 pm