Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

fragmenthyperion
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

31 Dec 2021, 10:53 pm

I've always loved the promise of Fusion power. And it's close now. After reading some books by Kim Stanley Robinson, I came to the conclusion that we must build the technologies of the future now. So first, I started learning everything I could about computing, linux, networking, and now programming, the machines that sustain our systems; and also digging back into mathematics, up to calculus currently, with my intent to get a third degree in Engineering and a fourth degree in Plasma Physics. Math is lovely and magical in such a fascinating way. So what if we put our energies at creating and sustaining the technologies of the future? Everyone is needed in the fight to keep our habitat sustainable. Let's make Fusion a reality, and bring a star to Earth.

naturalplastic
Veteran
Veteran

31 Dec 2021, 11:17 pm

Theyve talking about cold fusion ever since they first exploded H bombs back in the late Forties.

Theyve been saying "cold fusion is just around the corner" all of those eighty years.

But you're saying that they really are going to make the dream come true soon any day now?

Why do you think that? What has changed?

fragmenthyperion
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

01 Jan 2022, 2:38 am

High-temperature superconducting magnets have made for a game-changing net energy increase in a smaller tokamak fusion device. I have accompanying PDFs if you'd like to jump down the rabbit hole with me.
https://news.mit.edu/2021/MIT-CFS-major ... nergy-0908

DeepHour
Veteran
Veteran

03 Jan 2022, 6:17 pm