Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Stellian
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

03 Aug 2007, 1:24 am

I had an appointment with my psychologist today. She wanted to know how my psychiatric treatment was going. She had diagnosed me with schizoid personality disorder since we first met. However, after a while she found out that I knew about psychological disorders. She asked me how I would diagnose myself, and I said Asperger Syndrome. Amazingly, as soon as I told her and explained why, she wrote that as the new, final diagnosis. Officially and stuff. Perhaps she had come to the same conclusion, or perhaps she was actually trusting my diagnosis!

After that, she asked me to diagnose my family. I said my mom could have Narcissistic Personality Disorder, and she wrote it down too, as if it was her own professional opinion! It was really surprising. Despite not being a psychologist, my diagnosis was being taken as official. How cool is that?

Once we were done with the session, our last one, we had a nice talk about philosophy and Abraham Maslow. It was great to be talking to a professional as if I were her colleague instead of her patient. I do know a lot about psychology, but I still don't know as much as professionals should, so it was very flattering. She said I could count on her anytime I needed it, and we parted ways.

Has anyone else gone through similar experiences?

krex
Veteran
Veteran

03 Aug 2007, 2:42 am

Not even close to my experiences with mental health.I'm glad you found someone you like,she sounds amazing.

I did have one psych tell me that he had to give me a DX for me to receive the funding for the therepy I needed.He said that although I had some "historical" traits similiar to BPD,that it didnt explain my psychology very well for varies reasons(this was before AS,1990).He said that I would get the label of BPD for the money(so I could stay in treatment llonger)but that it wasnt accurate.I thought that was pretty compassionate and honest.

Visit my wool sculpture blog