My case for arranged marriage

Page 1 of 6 [ 84 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

MaxE
Veteran
Veteran

12 Apr 2022, 1:18 pm

I like to tell this story (although I haven't had many good opportunities) about how I went out with 4 Indian guys (this may seem less strange if you consider that I work in IT and most people I work with are in fact Indian whereas most "American" IT people in my area do classified stuff). Anyway, so in the conversation it came up that of those 4 guys, 3 were in arranged marriages and one had gotten married "for love". And the one that got married for love was the only one now divorced.

So if you concede that marriage (or something like it) is the ultimate goal of any sort of "dating", I mean what's the point of being in a relationship if your ultimate plan is to break up? I mean people do break up but they don't feel good about it.

So what makes a marriage work? My argument is that the success of a marriage or long-term cohabitation is not necessarily having the most possible interests in common, in fact in some cases that might even be detrimental. What matters more is the ability to share a space with another person every day and night while maintaining a congenial relationship and being willing to work together to make that work. In particular, the ability to be together and NOT be engaged in some sort of shared activity should be one of the most important prerequisite for marital success. Mutual respect should also be seen as a hard requirement.