Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Peckmania
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

23 May 2022, 9:41 pm

Hello Everyone!

This is my first time really being on any kind of forum. I haven't been much of a social media user, but I need to connect with others like me.

I just recently discovered that I'm autistic when I was trying to get information regarding my autistic son.
I had been watching You Tube videos from "Asperger's on the Inside" had 25 questions to ask yourself if you think you're autistic. I can't begin to describe how astonished I was to relate to 23 of them. I'm probably going to seek a formal diagnosis because I want to talk to somebody who's an expert.

The really mind blowing thing that's hard to process is the fact that I've been covering this up my entire life. I'd always been very conflict avoidant and I realized a while back that I had a fear of being found out. That something inside of me would be exposed. But I didn't know what that something was! People often seem to think that I was hiding something or not telling the truth. And I was I just didn't know it. Now I wish I had been found out sooner. I guess my mask did its job.

I already feel a difference. For the first time, I have an identity with some framework, some context. An identity that isn't some kind of adaptive mask or criticism from NT's (i.e. jokester, stoner, quiet, people pleaser, nice guy, fake, unmotivated, underachiever).

I've also been experiencing a new flood of emotions that I must have been hiding from myself. I'm much more aware of my loneliness and my guilt and the negative view I have of myself. Nicotine, weed, and alcohol had been part of my mask. Then I would lie to cover it up. I feel like maybe now I might be able to cut way back on those things because now I have a better idea of where my weird thoughts come from.

Heh. After 43 years of being an alien on this planet for the first time I know what type of people are my type of people.

Double Retired
Veteran
Veteran

24 May 2022, 8:57 am