Anyone NOT a "little professor" when you were a kid?

Page 1 of 3 [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Joe90
Veteran
Veteran

24 May 2022, 6:12 pm

I hear all this about Aspie children being little professors or something. What does this mean exactly? And if it means what I think it means, I wouldn't say I was a little professor.

As a kid I was a timid wimp. I was scared of everything, but I didn't know a lot. I didn't have any specified interests I fixated on or would spew out intelligent facts about (of course all kids have those moments but I mean I didn't do it more than a normal kid would).

The thing that made me unique was my anxiety about fires. Whenever I went to somebody's house I would ask if they had a trip switch, which my mum told me was a safety thing where if there's any electrical equipment that was faulty it would blow out all the electric to prevent a fire. I was just so worried about things catching on fire. But I didn't know anything about fires or electronics and I wasn't prepared to research anything. All I needed was reassurance from adults, and then I was happy.

I was a timid, nervous little girl that was afraid of everything; dogs, the dark, horror movies, balloons, old houses, thunder, my uncle, big empty fields, electric bells, clowns, dolls, injections, springs, dandelions, being alone, having diarrhea, cobwebs, Mr Blobby...loads of things.

I grew out of a lot of these fears before the age of 12. But definitely I was not a little professor. If I wasn't scared, I was crying or whining instead, and if I wasn't crying or whining then I was very hyperactive and playful.
What sort of child were you? Were you a little professor that high-functioning Aspie children are supposed to be?

Where_am_I
Veteran
Veteran

24 May 2022, 6:17 pm

I can relate to a lot of that!

I was extremely shy and barely spoke to anyone but my immediate family.

Edna3362
Veteran
Veteran

24 May 2022, 6:32 pm

I'm not.