Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

TwilightPrincess
Veteran
Veteran

04 Jun 2022, 7:05 am

Have you ever dealt with a situation like this?

I was a longterm substitute teacher, making decent money. Then I got hired to be a special education teacher at the end of February.

When I went to sign my pre-hire paperwork, the administrator said that my pay would be prorated and that she didn’t know exactly how much I’d be making. It seemed to be more of an afterthought that she just slipped into the conversation, so I didn’t think it would be that bad. The situation, I later learned, is that I am getting paid for 3 months work stretched out over 6 months since they don’t include a teacher’s time over the summer.

When I got my first paycheck, I was shocked because it was about a third less than what I was expecting. It’s way less than I was making as a sub.

Based on some other stuff that’s going on, I feel like they are using me.

I was hoping to move out of low income housing this summer, but I won’t be able to. This is not a livable wage. I’ve not been able to pay my bills.

Even when I get my regular salary, starting at the end of August, my pay still is a bit lackluster. I’ve recently learned that they are hiring a couple of flexible, longterm subs at a higher salary than mine.

I recently told a couple of teachers I trust about the situation, and they were shocked. They think I’m being used because I’m so “sweet” and “nice” that administration wouldn’t think I’d complain or try to fight it. I’m really not that sweet; I just appear to be. I would gladly sue them if I was ever presented with a good reason, like my predecessor who successfully sued them for sexual discrimination.

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

04 Jun 2022, 7:38 am

I wonder if you should speak to somebody, anonymously, at the PA Department of Labor.

I don’t know if you would get anywhere….but it’s a start.