June - Men's mental health awareness month

Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 

kitesandtrainsandcats
Veteran
Veteran

22 Jun 2022, 9:36 pm

We Need to Talk About Dad's Mental Health—And Not Just During Men's Mental Health Awareness Month
June may be Men's Mental Health Awareness Month, but one father shares why we need to talk about it year-round—and what men can do to help themselves.
By Clint Edwards
Published on June 22, 2022
https://www.parents.com/health/mental/j ... ealth-too/
"
Millions of Americans live with mental illness. According to the National Institute of Mental Health, nearly one in five adults in the United States has been (or will be) diagnosed with a mental health condition. And I am one in five. I was first diagnosed in 2001, at the age of 18, and—about four years ago—I began writing openly about my struggles with anxiety, depression, and OCD. And while I was nervous to publish that first post—while I am a writer, I wasn't sure how the world would view me, as a husband and father of three kiddos, with a mortgage and career—I was surprised how well my story was received. There was an outpouring of love and support.

For the most part, it was women telling me they'd struggled with something similar, or commending me for speaking so openly about my mental illness. But then I checked my private messages. There were dozens from men that almost always started the same way, "I didn't want to post this publicly..." then they'd tell me about how they struggled with similar feelings. They also told me that my post was the first time they'd ever seen a man discuss so openly something that they struggled with every day. And I think this is exactly why men's mental health awareness is so important. It isn't discussed. There is still stigma and shame. The subject remains taboo.

But what is Men's Mental Health Awareness Month—and why is it so important? From when it falls to ways to honor men's mental health year-round, one father explains the meaning behind the month.