Did you go to Uni/College, what did you study?

Page 1 of 2 [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Technic1
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

23 Jun 2022, 7:42 am

and how good are you at your subject?

Plus was it an interest or was it a chore?

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

23 Jun 2022, 7:58 am

Technic1 wrote:
Did you go to Uni/College?
Yes.
Technic1 wrote:
what did you study?
Electrical Engineering.
Technic1 wrote:
and how good are you at your subject?
Well enough to graduate near the top of my class without being salutatorian or valedictorian.
Technic1 wrote:
Plus was it an interest or was it a chore?
Both, actually -- an interesting chore.

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

23 Jun 2022, 8:01 am

I graduate college, at age 45, with a BA in English and Speech Pathology. I fully double-majored, and also had a minor in Education.

I received an award for having the top GPA in the (Speech Pathology) major. I graduated Magna cum laude.

I feel like I'm pretty good in English, but probably not so great as a potential speech pathologist. I haven't, as of yet, used my degree in any practical sense.

It was an interest. I did not enjoy writing papers, though.

PheonixDove
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

23 Jun 2022, 10:53 am

I studied Mechanical Engineering at university.

I would say that I was good at some sides of it, such as mathematics (and generally things where you are either right or wrong, as opposed to topics and projects that are more open-ended or demand a great deal of creativity). Struggled with group projects.

Essentially I chose to study it because I'm reasonably good at mathematics and other "technical" subjects, and engineering seemed like a fun career to use those skills in that also has decent job prospects. Although, I sometimes wish I had just studied pure Mathematics, as this on paper would probably be my strongest subject.

Nic na Mara
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

23 Jun 2022, 11:29 am