Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

KongZe
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

13 Jul 2022, 10:38 pm

I am getting a new PC soon as my laptop is very near the end of its life.

Both my laptop and my phone are haphazard messes. Poorly organized folders, documents with unintelligable names, so, so many forgotten downloads that just sit there and take up space. (I may be a bit of a digital hoarder)

Does anyone have tips, guides, recommendations on programmes/applications that will help me keep my new desktop streamlined and free of junk files?

I'm a 2D artist and a lot of the clutter comes from my downloading reference photos, e-books, art class videos, as well as freeware games.

SkinnedWolf
Veteran
Veteran

14 Jul 2022, 6:14 am

It is more efficient to plan where each new type of file should be placed than to arrange frequently.

Make good use of desktop shortcuts to folders.

Cover your eyes, if you like. It will serve no purpose.

You might expect to be able to crush them in your hand, into wolf-bone fragments.
Dance with me, funeralxempire. Into night's circle we fly, until the fire enjoys us.

Mountain Goat
Veteran
Veteran

14 Jul 2022, 6:51 am

Dissinfectant spray and wipes are probably the most effective. If the desk is an old wooden type, then one may need to use polish and the old homemade (By carpenters) beeswax polishes are the best.

Fenn
Veteran
Veteran

08 Aug 2022, 4:36 pm

I create a "Misc" folder on my desktop. When the desktop gets too full I put everything on the desktop in the Misc folder (unless I really have a reason not to). Especially good for icons pointing to apps I never really use, but the app installed thought they belonged on the desktop.

Sometimes (rarely) I take something out of the Misc folder and put it back on the desktop.

thoughtcrime
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

22 Aug 2022, 1:12 pm