New here, looking for other older autistics

Page 1 of 3 [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

RALowe
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

24 Jul 2022, 11:23 pm

I’m 70 years old and was just diagnosed with autism 6 months ago. I’m a retired professional, married for several decades, successful in many ways but always awkward in some social situations.

I’d love to connect with others with “mild” autism who can help me understand how it’s affected your life and what you’ve learned to do differently as you’ve come to understand autism better.

Thanks in advance for helping me learn about this.

jimmy m
Veteran
Veteran

25 Jul 2022, 11:05 am

Welcome to Wrong Planet.

I figured out that I had Asperger's Syndrome a few years ago and it brought some meaning to my life. I have always been a little different than most people. I thought differently and in some cases this was actually an advantage.

I suffered a massive stroke a little over a year ago. But I was able to recover most of the loss. I probably lost around 2 percent of my brain cells but because the human brain has many serial circuitry it took about 20 percent of my brain offline. But I am back now. Perhaps I can fill the last 2 percent. We will see what happens in time.

Immediately after my stroke, I lost my ability to read. But not my ability to write. Strokes are such a strange thing. I also lost around 99 percent of my words. It is almost impossible to hold a conversation with only 1 percent of your words left intact. But I fought hard and I am at least at the 8th grade level now.

After my stroke, my youngest daughter bought me several books to read. I could barely read and she brought me books.

Anyways I spent the time and read a page or two each day and eventually I made some progress.