Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Joe90
Veteran
Veteran

10 Sep 2022, 7:48 pm

Right, I'm not very good at explaining things so just persevere.

So many songs go lyrics / main chorus / lyrics / main chorus / variation / chorus.

That's just an approximate example, and I can't think of what the bits are between choruses so I just call them lyrics but hopefully you'll know what I mean.

Anyway the point I'm trying to make is that usually after the second (sometimes third, if the song started with the chorus) comes the variation.

Do you get what I mean? It's not like it with all songs of course but the pattern does seem common in a lot of songs. Sometimes in some songs (even my favourite songs) I go on to the next song when it gets to the variation, which is usually off-note singing or just background music.

Eurythmic
Veteran
Veteran

11 Sep 2022, 1:36 am

This is conventional song structure that's roughly followed in many songs.

Verse
Chorus
Verse
Chorus
Middle 8
Verse
Chorus repeated one or twice and then ad lib to fade.

Some musos choose not to follow this, notably the late Roy Orbison who had his songs flow organically.

funeralxempire
Veteran
Veteran

14 Sep 2022, 1:33 am

Joe90 wrote:
Right, I'm not very good at explaining things so just persevere.

So many songs go lyrics / main chorus / lyrics / main chorus / variation / chorus.

That's just an approximate example, and I can't think of what the bits are between choruses so I just call them lyrics but hopefully you'll know what I mean.

Anyway the point I'm trying to make is that usually after the second (sometimes third, if the song started with the chorus) comes the variation.

Do you get what I mean? It's not like it with all songs of course but the pattern does seem common in a lot of songs. Sometimes in some songs (even my favourite songs) I go on to the next song when it gets to the variation, which is usually off-note singing or just background music.