Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

Gammeldans
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

23 Sep 2022, 6:18 am

I have met people with ASD who are slow to react.
An example:
Let's say I talk with a person with ASD. I start by saying something. Then the other person say something but it is very short and it takes a little time before the person reacts. Maybe some seconds more than what is normal.
Then it is like I have to do the job of keep the discussion or talking going on as the other person won't really be of much help.
It is like we have one very introverted person who is slow and have difficulties responding when talking to him/her.
I myself can be introverted but I do act more extroverted in some situations.
You try to get the flow going in the situation but it's like the other person just won't allow it.

Do you know why some people with ASD would behave like this? And do you know what such a person would want or need from other people?

babybird
Veteran
Veteran

23 Sep 2022, 6:32 am

I'm no expert but from what I've read about P/w asd on here maybe they feel more comfortable talking about their own interests until they feel comfortable enough to talk about other things so maybe asking them questions about what they like and listening to them could be a good start. I think that's the same with some NT people as well to be honest.

I'm more of a banter type person. I like people who to make fun of me so I can do it back. I also like to share stories with people as well.

I would say that I am an introverted type ut I'm also quite outgoing as well.

Gammeldans
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

23 Sep 2022, 6:45 am

I wonder if it is not actually about information processing difficulties.
Like if you won't get the flow going because the person have to process information in a slow way.

babybird
Veteran
Veteran

23 Sep 2022, 6:49 am

Could be that for some people.

Gammeldans
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

23 Sep 2022, 8:42 am