Knowing your value. (I'm still learning mine.)

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

goldfish21
Veteran
Veteran

24 Oct 2022, 2:58 pm

Did a couple side jobs for a contractor I just met who has worked with a mutual boss a lot over the years.

One job was close to home and on my way, so I stopped in a couple times for less than an hour's work each time and charged $130 cash + he gave me $30 worth of new unopened material that I can use elsewhere. I knew I was charging low - to an industry colleague/and because I wanted referral business.

The other job I estimated $300 worth of material and said $1200.. he says $1200 + material so $1500. Umm, yeah! I say. I drive away and get a call in under 5 mins saying I can start in the morning no problem. I bought $290 worth of material but only used maybe $125 worth. (Oops!) He still figures I charged too little for the work and that the client would have accepted a price of $2000 for that work and level of quality etc with ease. He was concerned I won't make much $ on the job, but I told him I'm still doing Ok on it at that price.. I still have to go complete it possibly today if it's ready, and my rough math is that I'll make approx $90/hr cash on it. But apparently I could be making $120+/hr cash, more once I adjust a few things that save a lot of time.

He also told me he paid a guy $1000 for X work that's terribly done and I could have done it WAY BETTER and the client would have easily paid $1200 for a Good job. Another portion of a job he paid $4000 cash for and I was kinda shocked as it was Maybe $200 in materials, if that. I'm used to rough pricing of 10-15x material cost being pretty good, but that guy charged 20x+ material cost.

Small to medium sized jobs are worth Big Money vs. Very Large Jobs that people get volume discounts on.. and in this economy with demand so high, simply being Available with Skills AND you show up when you say you're going to show up and do the job = Get PAID!