Who else works in the mental health field?

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Cafeaulait
Veteran
Veteran

13 Nov 2022, 2:03 pm

I am an ADHD and ASD therapist. It's a beautiful job but very demanding. I see on average 7 to 8 clients a day, 50 minute sessions on an 8 hour work day. I'm exhausted when the day is done :skull:

Anyone else working in the field?

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

13 Nov 2022, 3:05 pm

I got a degree in speech pathology—but I am not presently working as a therapist.

Congratulations on your success! I remember you from a few years ago.

Cafeaulait
Veteran
Veteran

14 Nov 2022, 2:15 am

kraftiekortie wrote:
I got a degree in speech pathology—but I am not presently working as a therapist.

Congratulations on your success! I remember you from a few years ago.

Thank you! I still feel quite overwhelmed with adult life regularly, but things have definitely gotten better for me with time.

Worthless
Veteran
Veteran

17 Nov 2022, 2:36 am

I used to do work in that field. I didn't have any degrees or anything, but I got quite a lot of certifications on the job which had to be regularly renewed. It was a very demanding, but rewarding job.

Cafeaulait
Veteran
Veteran

28 Dec 2022, 6:12 pm

Worthless wrote:
I used to do work in that field. I didn't have any degrees or anything, but I got quite a lot of certifications on the job which had to be regularly renewed. It was a very demanding, but rewarding job.

Ah, may I ask why you stopped?

Mona Pereth
Veteran
Veteran

17 Jan 2023, 7:27 pm

I'm sorry I didn't see this thread earlier.

I don't work in the mental health field myself, but I would like to call your attention to an organization you might not be aware of: the Association of Neurodivergent Therapists, based in the U.K., founded in spring 2021. As far as I am aware, this is the world's first professional association of neurodivergent people in any profession.

Hopefully similar organizations will form in other countries, the sooner the better.