Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

yoshileigh66
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

13 Jan 2023, 12:09 pm

For those of you who were diagnosed as being on the spectrum in your adult years, how helpful was the diagnosis?
I am finally taking the steps to see if I am on the spectrum. It has been on my mind for years, but I never went through with it because I figure that it wouldn't help me much. I have learned how to disguise certain behavior and can get through life without too much trouble.
What are some behaviors you exhibited that convinced you to get an official diagnosis?
I apologize beforehand if any terminology I used is not the most modern/politically correct term as I am new to this, but I would love to learn the best way to phrase them.

Some past/current behaviors:
- nail, nose, and lip picking (to the point of bleeding)
- This is TMI and absolutely WEIRD, but I will pluck my pubic hair lmao. I'm embarrassed by this, but I'm trying to be open so that I can see whether or not this is "normal" behavior
- I suspect that I have ADHD. I always struggled in school. As an adult, a physician put me on Adderall and it helped me focus tremendously. I am seeking an official diagnosis for this, too.
- I used to pace around a lot. But now that I have my own house to clean, I'm constantly walking around cleaning and I don't really pace anymore.
- I love spinning, like in a computer chair.
- I rock back and forth when standing.
- I have no clue if I exhibited hyperlexia as a child, but I was told that I was always fascinated with books even before I could read. I always did above average in English, but horribly in other studies.
- I have issues with knowing what people want unless they are very direct and to the point. I hate when people can't just say what they want or need.
- Eye contact has always been awkward for me.

This is not an exhaustive list, but it's the more prominent behaviors.

Texasmoneyman300
Veteran
Veteran

13 Jan 2023, 2:49 pm

yoshileigh66 wrote: