Should I leave my bachelor's degree off my resume???

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

Texasmoneyman300
Veteran
Veteran

17 Feb 2023, 3:34 am

Hi y'all.
I have a bachelor's degree in one of the social sciences.Someone today said I should leave it off my resume but I got mixed feelings about that because I worked hard for that degree.She said it will make me less likely to get hired for a McJob.Should I leave it off or not in your opinion?She also said corporations are stopping making having a degree a big requirement to get hired.

klanka
Veteran
Veteran

17 Feb 2023, 5:31 am

She might be right cos employers do look to see if you are really looking for another job while working for them.

DanielW
Veteran
Veteran

17 Feb 2023, 6:05 am

These days you really do need to tailor your resume to the type of job you are applying for (and keep them as brief as possible) Especially if you have ever been told you are "over-qualified". Those are the 2 issues I have had. The second being that people who screen resumes can't or don't actually read them.

shortfatbalduglyman
Veteran
Veteran

17 Feb 2023, 8:04 am

Daniel's advice has been my job hunting experience.

However, interviewers might also ask, during those four years (when you were at college), what were you doing (in terms of work)?

There is something wrong with everything

rse92
Veteran
Veteran

19 Feb 2023, 3:20 pm

I have multiple degrees including a law degree from an Ivy League university. I also had twenty five years work experience as a corporate lawyer. I got a job stocking shelves at Walmart.

I don’t think a degree is going to be an issue. There are still fewer workers than jobs in this country.

shortfatbalduglyman
Veteran
Veteran

19 Feb 2023, 4:22 pm

What I do is that for jobs that require a degree, I put the degree on resume

The other jobs , I don't put the degree

goldfish21
Veteran
Veteran

22 Feb 2023, 9:38 am