Veteran
Veteran

23 Mar 2023, 6:36 pm

https://spectrum.ieee.org/time-reversal-interface

goldfish21
Veteran
Veteran

24 Mar 2023, 12:51 pm

Too nerdy, couldn't keep my interest enough to read it thoroughly tbh. Probably neat for physics and computing nerds, though.

QuantumChemist
Veteran
Veteran

24 Mar 2023, 1:51 pm

I knew about the research in the article. It makes sense that ordered patterns smaller than the wavelength of light traveling thru the crystalline material might affect how the waves act as they move. I was pondering how this might be affected using NLO materials as the targets. Red shifting is much easier to do overall than blue shifting using NLO. There might be a way to use this process in a new manner to reverse the trend.

Fnord
Veteran
Veteran

24 Mar 2023, 7:26 pm

As an engineer, I am more interested in the practical applications.  How can this effect be exploited for profit?

No love for Hamas, Hezbollah, Iranian Leadership, Islamic Jihad, other Islamic terrorist groups, OR their supporters and sympathizers.

klanka
Veteran
Veteran

25 Mar 2023, 4:36 am

It preserves the state of light even after it bounces off something.
So it can be used to transmit information very efficiently and quickly.

It's supposed to be used in cloaking technology as well.
Under normal circumstances a beam of light might hit a white bathroom tile,then a toothbrush,then your eye.
The toothbrush might be a shade whiter than usual cos the light hit the tile first.

If the toothbrush were made of this stuff in the article:
The toothbrush would seem to be the same material as the wall tile. But it would have the same shape as a toothbrush.
The toothbrush wouldn't be 100% invisible.

But if a tank were made of this material it would confuse the enemy in a war, just enough.

klanka
Veteran
Veteran

25 Mar 2023, 9:37 am

I might have to reread the article as what I'm describing is basically a mirror. So there must be something I'm not understanding correctly.

klanka