Page 1 of 3 [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

stratozyck
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

02 Jun 2023, 5:55 pm

Hello, if you've read my rants before you may be familiar, if not - I am a PhD economist that can probably anger everyone in the room. This rant is inspired by many housing discussions I've had with progressive/left wing types over the years. In particular, this one was inspired by someone spotting a bear in my neighborhood.

This was on FB, and on my neighborhood FB someone had posted a picture of a bear that got near our neighborhood. A very left wing neighbor posted a rant about how this is what happens when the county doesn't care about density buildup and starts cutting down trees.

I asked her, "didn't you say a few days ago you wished there was more affordable housing?"

Her: "Yes"

Me: "You know if you start restricting density buildup in a high demand area, it causes rents and home prices to go up, right?"

Her: "N--- I am sad you never mention things that help others."

Me: "I was just pointing out that you are advocating for contradictory policies. You said on one hand you want more affordable housing for low income people but on the other hand you want less density."

Her: "Why can't we have both?"

It just went nowhere. Economics taught me to approach emotional topics logically. Often, you find that what tugs at your emotions leads you to advocate for policies that do the opposite of what you intended.

For example, a recurring policy that progressives advocate for is price controls. Now here's the thing - price controls can actually be called for in specific markets. The classic example of price controls being optimal is in a "natural monopoly" where it makes sense to have one producer and that one producer is treated like a public utility. Sewer systems are an example. It doesn't make sense to have three competitors trying to build sewer systems in an area.