Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

trifthen
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

04 Oct 2007, 2:51 pm

Howdy all,

I figured I'd finally stop kicking the can and commit to looking into this stuff for once, so here I am.

In general, I'm a writer with a technical bent. That distracted me into computers and programming for over a decade, but I think I'm getting over that and finally going toward my true calling. I just finished my first novel, and I'm currently editing it before seeking publication.

Aside from that, I don't think God liked me much. I've got a complicated congenital heart defect that required surgery when I was seven, and I need to see a cardiologist every year to monitor my progress. I've hit the ripe-old age of 30, but you never stop worrying about things like the risk of instant death. I've got myopia and astigmatism, both accounting for about -15 diopters in each eye... all I can say on that account is "Thank [insert deity] for gas permeable contacts!"

And then of course, the wonderful social retardation. It's weird thinking back to when I was 3 or 4, cowering from other people, totally missing social cues, talking to myself, ignorantly living in my own little world pretty much oblivious to what I was missing, limitless fidgeting, etc. If I didn't compensate by brutally analyzing every situation I encounter to design coping and adapting mechanisms, I'd be toast.

Not to say I've let any of this cripple me. I am pretty darn old now, after all. ;) Time is the great equalizer, I've found, and while I still exhibit limitless degrees of awkwardness, I've come to accept it as part of life. We all have our own albatross to bear, after all. So hello everybody, I'll likely lurk more than I post, but I figured I'd do the polite thing and make introductions. :oops:

That said, what's the deal with the "questions about you" sticky being locked? The Mod that locked it didn't say why... so I'll assume it was deprecated in favor of another thread.

Goche21
Velociraptor
Velociraptor