Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

ACG
Raven
Raven

14 Aug 2005, 5:48 am

Hi! I'm a software engineer, and although my boss seems to like me I've heard rumors from people outside my group that he's not a very good boss.

1. Most people get overtime time if they come in on Sunday instead of a weekday (Sunday is worth more than a weekday). My manager says you have to EARN extra vacation days. You can't just come in Sunday and get time for it. If you come in Sunday because you have extra work to get done for a deadline, it's like doing homework on the weekend in college -- you're just doing what's expected. No extra vacation days. This is quite problematic as I'm Jewish and have to use all the vacation days for all the holidays in the fall (which occur on weekdays this year).

2. Our building is closing and everyone is going to be moving to either North Reading (20 miles from Boston -- 1 hour plus commute for a Bostonian) or one block away -- we have two buildings. All of us live in Boston except for the manager, who lives in near North Reading. Guess what? It's North Reading -- the manager basically pulled rank just to make himself happy, and he told all of us to "suck it up". At the very least, the extra commute time will make it virtually impossible for me to see any of my AS therapists! It will also be basically 20 miles of highly stressful stop and go traffic, from what I've been told. The net result here is virtually everyone is trying to get out of our group before the move.

3. This was a guy who at one point basically said at a performance review "become NT or you're out". I'm still there, and I think I've gotten a little more open -- but I've noticed that my work has suffered a little because of the extra energy to open up.