Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Geri
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

10 Feb 2008, 3:01 pm

I have been working as a transcriptionist for 20 years and with one company, a large doctor group in Philadelphia, for 4 years with an excellent work record. Recently I was not offered a promotion that I feel I should have been after I told my employer that I had Asperger and might need help with talking to people if the promotion was offered to me. I cannot deal with stress and this just stressed me so much I am getting physically sick. I told my employer that I felt I was being treated unfairly in regard to the promotion and requested time off to see a counselor to help me deal with the stress. They told me Asperger is not considered a disability under the Americans with Disability Act and that they only had to accomodate a physical disability like being in a wheelchair. I think they are wrong but it is a Catch 22--I cannot get time off to get a doctor to verify that I have asperger and that it is a disability but I have to do that in order to get time off. In the meantime they are making me follow rules to request time off that they did not do before and no one else has to do.

I am losing "my center" and starting to cry and shake at work. I feel like I am losing all the ground I have gained in acting "normal". I am going to talk to a lawyer next week but i am so depressed it just feels hopeless. I cannot afford to lose my job or stop working, and my employer knows that. Sorry, to ramble on but I just needed to vent.

Paula
Veteran
Veteran

10 Feb 2008, 5:23 pm