Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

kattoo13
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

27 Feb 2008, 11:16 am

My son was originally diagnosed with Nonverbal Learning Disability, ADHD, Developmental Coordination Disorder and a General Anxiety Disorder.

He was just diagnosed with Aspergers last week, by 2 new doctors. I was told that with Aspergers, multiple diagnoses (such as ADHD etc.) aren't made in addition to, but are rather a part of the whole diagnostic picture.

Is that true? Have any of you with Aspergers been diagnosed with any of the underlying disorders SEPARATELY, or were you told any ADHD/OCD symptoms you may have are co-morbid with this diagnosis?

MissConstrue
Veteran
Veteran

27 Feb 2008, 11:42 am

I have some of these symptoms your son has. I'm now on an medication for depression, anxiety and seizures. I read a book called Asperger Syndrome (A Guide For Educators and Parents 2nd edition), by Myles and Simpson. I'm not a doctor but I read that a lot of that can be a part of the Autism Spectrum. It's taken some time but I'm now a lot more better than I was in the past. You might, if you haven't already, check into some of the books that relates to this. As for coordination problems, I have it but not real bad.

TheUsualSuspect
Butterfly
Butterfly

27 Feb 2008, 12:44 pm

im not sure i understand what your asking but ill take a shot. for me i was diagnosed ADD, ADHD, seperation anxiety,(raised by grandmother partents not huge part of my life), bipolar, and probily a few others that i cant remember. before i was diagnosed aspergers. from what i understand, alot of aspergers people are diagnosed as stuff like that because aspergers is such a underknown/underdiagnosed disorder. it doesnt mean that the child has that but just that alot of all those kind of disorders overlap. if i remember right my diagnosis now is aspergers/bipolar without any of the other stuff. hope this helps:)

bheid
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

27 Feb 2008, 12:48 pm