Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

A350XWB
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

14 Mar 2008, 10:29 pm

Here I stand, regarding my calculus troubles, considering the declaration of an "incomplet permanent" (permanent unfinished) because calculus II has induced so much psychological suffering that I may never fully recover if I continue with that course. The college psychologist recommended that I declare a "permament unfinished" and re-take calculus II in the next semester; but my calculus professor says otherwise.

What should I do?

aspiegirl2
Veteran
Veteran

15 Mar 2008, 1:41 am

I would say that, depending how far you are in the course, that you should keep going if you've already been in the class for awhile. That way it won't cause you more stress later by worrying about having to take it again the next semester. I'm not very good at math, so almost every single math course that I've taken I've had lots of stress. For instance, my senior year of high school I had a math teacher with a teaching style that I really couldn't learn from. I really needed a teacher that walked me through everything rather than seeing if someone could get the answer right in the homework and then afterwards teaching the class about the homework after grading us on it. I'm also taking Statistics for a Psychology major and this teacher has almost the exact same teaching style as my high school math teacher my senior year. I'm actually thinking of dropping my Statistics class because I haven't been doing as well as I've wanted. I am maxed out on credits and I feel too stretched out as in I'm not able to do my best in my classes because of the amount of work that I have. I'm already almost to the midterm. I say that if I fail the midterm in Statistics that I will drop the class before it is too late. I say that for your case that if you are having trouble with the course material and that is stressing you out that you should pick the class up at another time and self-teach the material to yourself, which is what