Page 1 of 3 [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

PrJeff
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

22 Apr 2008, 11:04 pm

Hi, I am a pastor and am very likely an undiagnosed Aspie in my mid 30's. I found out about Asperger's when researching Autism to find out how to better serve a family in my church with two Autistic boys.

As a pastor I have a reputation among those who like me for thinking outside the box and among those who don't for being a weird irreverent heretic. What I really try to do is provide worship experiences that the people in my congregation find meaningful, enjoyable and life-giving.

Assuming for the moment that I am right, and I am an aspie: I know what parts of traditional church services I enjoy and work for me and I know what really doesn't.

I would like to hear from others with Asperger's: What worship experiences or non-solitary religious practices do you enjoy or find meaningful? What works for you? What do you hate, or not get much out of? What doesn't work for you?

I'm not looking for theological content here. I'm a Christian, but if you want to share something from Muslim, Buddhist, Hindu, Jewish, Sub Genius, Zoroastrian, Wicca, or whatever worship or gatherings, that is fine.

For example:

I would say that I like things that take place in relatively small groups, where individual relationships are built over time. I like music where simple harmonies are built with simple songs such as those from Taize. I like cande light. I like worship that is group driven and participatory for each person in the group. I like silence to be mixed in. I like to touch things (like holding candles) or to eat food as a part of worship.

I dislike loud music or bombastic choirs (although I do like pipe organs if done right). I don't like altar calls, or "calling on people to pray" or other things that single people out. I intensely dislike things that are showy. I love worship spaces that are big like cathedrals, but dislike large worship groups like revivals.