Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

MeloJag
Raven
Raven

23 Apr 2008, 7:04 pm

Can AS be caused by Brain injury as a young child? Im not sure how old I was but I believe younger than 4. My mom dropped me in a washing machine and the front of my skull is permanently deformed because of it. I cant help but think that MAYBE this has something to do with it.

Specter
Veteran
Veteran

23 Apr 2008, 7:12 pm

A head trauma can certainly cause AS, by damaging one half of the brain and affection the proficiency of the other. I don't know what the odds are for the impact causing your AS, but it may be a contributing factor. I would do some research, and while you're at it, research your family tree. If you have relatives with AS or Autism, then it's most likely hereditary.

I'm not a professional however. Is there anyone here who knows more about the subject?

spudnik
Veteran
Veteran

23 Apr 2008, 7:13 pm

I did get a bad concussion when I was 3, got ran over by a bike, I did heal up good but I can still feel the crack on my forehead, I am not sure if I was brain damaged from that, as my father had a few aspie traits

sim
Veteran
Veteran

23 Apr 2008, 7:16 pm

I've been hit on the head a couple of times when I was little.

I don't know if I was ret*d before or after the events though.

MeloJag
Raven
Raven

23 Apr 2008, 7:27 pm

i dont think the ridge down the middle of my forehead made me ret*d or anything. I just have this feeling that it messed up the frontal part of the brain. Like i know somewhere in the front of ur brain is responisble for planning and i absolutely suck at that. Mayb there are other parts in the front that are damaged that are responsible for my aspieness.

zee
Veteran
Veteran

23 Apr 2008, 7:33 pm

Specter wrote: