Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

dark_mage
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

08 May 2008, 9:34 am

Here's a question for those who might be considering any career in health (medicine, vet, psychology etc.) what experiences do you have and how many hours do or did you have? Speaking for myself I have volunteering in a hospital on the weekends but this does not seem to be enough. Any insights would be helpful here.

Mikomi
Veteran
Veteran

08 May 2008, 11:20 am

You'll need a college degree.

dark_mage
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

08 May 2008, 3:03 pm

Sorry didn't explain the situation well enough. :) I have a degree in Electrical Engineering and looking to go to medical school. After the interview, to strengthen my application I was told that I need more experience in health care. So I was wondering about other's experiences in this (how many hours, what type of experience)

MsTriste
Veteran
Veteran

11 May 2008, 4:30 am

I've been a registered nurse for 11 years, and have never heard of med schools requiring health care experience. Aside from volunteering the only thing I can think of that you can do without a license is teach CPR. I volunteered in an ER when I was doing my prereqs for nursing school; not only was it the highlight of my week back then, but it allowed me to know for certain I wanted to be and ER nurse, which I did for 3 years.

dark_mage
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

12 May 2008, 2:48 pm

aylissa wrote:
I've been a registered nurse for 11 years, and have never heard of med schools requiring health care experience. Aside from volunteering the only thing I can think of that you can do without a license is teach CPR. I volunteered in an ER when I was doing my prereqs for nursing school; not only was it the highlight of my week back then, but it allowed me to know for certain I wanted to be and ER nurse, which I did for 3 years.