So how does this Asperger's thing work?

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

Jael
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

25 Jul 2008, 4:46 pm

Hi, my name is Jael and I am newly diagnosed with Asperger's syndrome. I am 44 years old and you can't imagine how it feels to find out at this age why it is that I am so fundamentally different from everyone I know. THIS is why I express myself in formal language that makes me sound as though I stepped out of the 18th century! THIS is why I am so often obsessive about things that interest me. And most of all, THIS is why normal social interaction has always been impossibly difficult for me!
There's actually a NAME for this! :o

I work in the technology field - I was a programmer for years and now I am director of technology for my company. I'm looking forward to learning more about Asperger's and how to cope with it more effectively. Thanks!

JerryHatake
Veteran
Veteran

25 Jul 2008, 5:26 pm

Nice to meet you, Jael. :) 8)

WonderWoman
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

25 Jul 2008, 5:43 pm

I'm 55 and just found out. I think it's great that so much now falls into place! I'm really relieved. And to find out that there are others learning to cope with this. Wow!

Congratulations! and Welcome!

Willard
Veteran
Veteran

25 Jul 2008, 6:02 pm

Jael wrote:
Hi, my name is Jael and I am newly diagnosed with Asperger's syndrome. I am 44 years old and you can't imagine how it feels to find out at this age why it is that I am so fundamentally different from everyone I know.

You'll be surprised to find how many of us do know exactly how you feel. Since Asperger Syndrome wasn't even on the psychological radar until '94, more and more adults every day are discovering just as you have, the cause behind all those quirks we used to think were just our own personal deficiencies. I'm 49 and only heard of AS for the first time about four years ago. Welcome to the Aspergian refugee outpost on Terra. :alien:

Brunny
Raven
Raven

25 Jul 2008, 6:15 pm