Being highly verbal, yet unable to articulate feelings

Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

chocoholic
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

29 Sep 2008, 9:00 pm

I have an interesting paradox and I was wondering if anyone else experienced this. I am very high functioning, I work in customer service and can interact with customers and people I work with pretty well, I'm currently dating someone, I can hold spirited discussions and even debates with people that I'm close with, and speak very well about things I'm knowledgable about.

But here's the paradox. Even though I'm high functioning in all these areas, oftentimes I have difficulty expressing the simplest of feelings. Sometimes I may have a bad day, or be scared, nervous, or worried about something, and I really feel I need to express it, but I don't have just the right words to convey what I'm feeling and why. Sometimes all I'm able to do is replay the video of what happened in my mind, trying to find something there that will help me articulate my feelings, yet this doesn't work very well for me as videos and other visual images can only do so much because they don't show the feelings that are in someone's gut. There's no image or object that you can correlate your feelings with, so the feelings often just sit and fester, and there have been times when I've reached a breaking point.

Has anyone else experienced a similar paradox, being high functioning with good verbal ability, yet have difficulty expressing simple feelings?

Kauf039
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

29 Sep 2008, 9:17 pm

I'm very bad at touchy-feely crap. I can't tell people how I feel beyond "I'm pissed off" or "I'm frusterated" and usually those are simply the closest things to it and aren't very descriptive. My feelings toward a person are even worse off. I am very "high fuctioning" in the sence you are referring to, however when it comes to emotions, I'm brain dead.

-JR
Veteran
Veteran

29 Sep 2008, 9:37 pm