Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

NocturnalQuilter
Veteran
Veteran

08 Oct 2008, 1:44 pm

Good Morning!

My name is Miles. I live in Bakersfield (Hinges of Hell), California. I've been here almost 6 years. I am almost 40 years old, live with a terrific partner (almost 6 years) in a very typical tract home.
The first time I heard the term "autism" applied to me I was in my childhood. Not much was said or done about it. Actually- nothing was done about.
Only very recently have I chosen to reserch the possibility that I might, in fact have Asperger's and have all my life.
When I started reading posts, blogs and online information it's as if a light finally went on where there was only confusing darkness. I scored a 169/200 on a "Aspie Quiz". I know this isn't a diagnosis. I am waiting for a referal from my doctor to a local psychiatrist to help me in confirming/disproving my theory.

I am a GIS tech for the Department of Agriculture, California. It means I make lots of maps based on global positioning, GPS information, satelite imagery, etc.
I also think of myself as something of an artist- a fiber artist. I make quilts. Not the granny kind.
I do a lot of volunteer work with the American Heart Association.
I am adopted so much of my biological history is a complete blank. It occured to me not too long ago that my biological mother put me up for adoption after the realization that there was something "off" about me. I have an older brother she chose to keep.

I lead a very typical life with many of the AS traits.

I look very much forward to learning more about myself, either with or without Asperger's. Who knows? Maybe I'm just effed up in the head.

Thanks for reading. Take care.

Tim_Tex
Veteran
Veteran

08 Oct 2008, 3:47 pm

Welcome to WP from a fellow GIS professional.

Now proficient in ChatGPT!

NocturnalQuilter
Veteran
Veteran

08 Oct 2008, 4:09 pm

"Welcome to WP from a fellow GIS professional."