It is, though it has its advantages 50%  50%  [ 28 ]
I think it is better to have autism/AS than being NT 13%  13%  [ 7 ]
I resent the fact I have AS 2%  2%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 56

Crocodile
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

08 Dec 2008, 10:48 am

My mother sees autism as a handicap. Though I find that NT's are handicapped in their way too. We have different sorts of, if it depends on me. What do you think?

I GRADUATED WITH THE HIGHEST GRADES OF MY YEAR!! !! !

Prosser
Veteran
Veteran

08 Dec 2008, 10:55 am

No one resents themselves for having AS? Where is Mosse nowadays?

CRACK
Veteran
Veteran

08 Dec 2008, 10:55 am

No. Everybody has their strengths and weaknesses. And my weaknesses don't require the need of special services or nothing.

ephemerella
Veteran
Veteran

08 Dec 2008, 11:17 am

Depends on who's keeping score. It's a handicap if NTs are keeping score.

pizzaman31195
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

08 Dec 2008, 11:28 am

personnaly i believe it is a blessing, it takes a lot of work and a lot of courage but in the end it is all worth it. what i mean is, you need to work twice as hard as a NT to make your place in life, and there is a lot of people that dont understand, so there is a lot of explaining to do, but there is so much good stuff that can come out of it, its incredible,

basicaly dont give up, and believe in yourself

Lightning88
Veteran
Veteran

08 Dec 2008, 11:28 am

I don't see it as a handicap. I can see full-blown autism as a handicap, but not just AS alone.

Keith
Veteran
Veteran

08 Dec 2008, 11:29 am

I would have to say yes as AS is a social handicap. I was with an AS girl who said something that would probably have been taken as biting someone's head off, but I chose to disregard it as a comment only and not anything else. I would presume an NT wouldn't see this to kindly.

(I haven't voted at the time of writing this)

melissa17b
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

08 Dec 2008, 11:50 am