Page 1 of 3 [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Taonuviel
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

16 Dec 2008, 2:11 pm

i read that the difficulty in empathy for aspies is because of a lack of imagination. this seems strange to me. is that a rule, a norm, or totally off? if you're dx'd, do you have an imagination?

16 Dec 2008, 2:16 pm

Yes I have an imagination. I can make up stories and write them. I also fantasize about my life, and I did pretend play growing up.

Crocodile
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

16 Dec 2008, 2:17 pm

I have the greatest imagination of all people I know.

I GRADUATED WITH THE HIGHEST GRADES OF MY YEAR!! !! !

BastetsEye
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

16 Dec 2008, 2:20 pm

I have an imagination, but I like to put it as a Blind persons imagination, in that I don't see things in my head but I can conceive of them. If that makes sense.

NocturnalQuilter
Veteran
Veteran

16 Dec 2008, 2:25 pm

I have imagination in excess. I visualize darn near everything- words into pictures.

IdahoRose
Veteran
Veteran

16 Dec 2008, 2:26 pm

I'm diagnosed, and I have an imagination (albeit one that is highly derivative of things I've seen/heard/read).

Kilroy
Veteran
Veteran

16 Dec 2008, 2:28 pm

I have too much of one, the things I write...is just sometimes too weird for even me to understand
my mind is always going, thinking about something strange I can record...

DwightF
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

16 Dec 2008, 2:29 pm

I've found that "lack of imagination" seems to be more a code phrase or misunderstanding that really means "likes to experience the same thing over and over". Such as:

"You have been listening to that same song over and over for the last 3 hours straight. Why not listen to something else?"

"Because I really like this song."

"You have no imagination."