Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Stinkypuppy
Veteran
Veteran

01 Jan 2009, 11:08 pm

Hi everybody,

I'll be finishing up graduate school sometime this year, and haven't yet finalized what I want to do next. During my time in this program I've enjoyed being a teaching assistant, thus making me consider becoming a high school or undergraduate instructor. I think I'd like to avoid a research position if at all possible. However since my teaching experience is limited to leading small discussion/lab sections for a couple of semesters, I have no first-hand experience in a full teaching position. So I was wondering, for those of you who've had full-time or even part-time teaching positions (not as an assistant), did you find your AS to be helpful or detrimental in any way? How difficult is it to go through all the hurdles to get that position and be good at it? Do you regret this career choice and would you have done anything differently? I know there are certification requirements for K-12 education but I don't really understand if there are similar requirements at the undergraduate level. As you could guess I'm pretty clueless about this field, and I don't know people personally who I could turn to for more info or guidance about this, particularly other Aspies.

Thanks very much for any comments and suggestions!! 8)

Shiggily
Veteran
Veteran

02 Jan 2009, 2:10 am

Stinkypuppy wrote:
Hi everybody,